Guest Blogger in my Absence

This is “mom” speaking. Tuesday evening Kristin mentioned she may want me to write as a “guest author” on her blog from my perspective; but I’m not the writer she is. Yet I feel I could write a “book” about this horrific journey we are on that none of us have asked for. My mind is muddled and time is so very limited that IF I have a chance to write I may post something to my own blog (journal) for which there is a link here at the right of this page – entitled “My Mom’s Musings”. However, if you go there now you will find I haven’t posted much lately…and that’s because there’s little time or energy to do so. However, I will make some comments here. For one, Donna McDonald (above comment) “what [mom] is made of” had me asking what that erally is and thinking of the Psalm 100:3 verse which in KJV says in part “…it is He who has made us and not we ourselves…” :)

In II Corinthians 4 (NIV) the apostle Paul discusses treasures in jars of clay. In verse 6 & 7, it says “For God, who said, ‘Let light shine out of darkness,’ made his light shine in our hearts to give us the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Christ. But we have this treasure in jars of clay to show that this all-surpassing power is from God and not from us.” My favorite encouraging speech is one by Christian comedian, Patsy Clairmont, entitled “God Uses Cracked Pots” and then she adds “and I’m the visual aid”. So, Donna, that’s what I’m made of too – cracked clay. It is my desire that the light of Christ (true Treasure) shows through those cracks and gives Light into darkness. “Poor God”, that’s all He has to work with, isn’t it: cracked pots! I am so grateful He can use us if we let Him. He is, after all, the Potter referred to in Isaiah 45:9 and Romans 9:20-21, and can remake us. This entire saga of Kristin’s illness is, I believe, a remaking process for many.

I was reading in Lamentations 3 recently and came across a wonderfully familiar reassurance, but what struck me this time was the verse before it. Found in verses 21 and 23, this: “Yet this I call to mind and therefore I have hope: because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed., for His compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is Your faithfulness!” But because I AM a “cracked pot”, I feel “consumed” (or nearly so anyway) and struggle with weakness and doubt and wonder why trusting is so hard. Maybe it’s in part because I’m a mom, and one of the greatest pains in parenting is watching your children suffer……….but through that very suffering I came to realize during another crisis in Kristin’s life that God Himself understands that pain better than any of us can. He SENT His Son to suffer…..for me….for you…..John 3:16 – For God so loved the world that He gave His only Son that whosoever believes in Him shall not perish but have everlasting life.”

So I guess I wrote a “chapter” of the book, Kristin. You are teaching courage, strength, perseverance, and so much more in this battle. In the words of a current song “don’t give up!”, Love, Mom

4 thoughts on “Guest Blogger in my Absence

  1. From another Mom, who has walked through the valley with a child, my heart and prayers are with you! Our son has a brain tumor of unknown cause as well as a serious auto-immune disease…treated with chemo, at one time. He is doing very well, but it was touch and go for some time. I love your daughter and she is always in my prayers. Thank you for being such a good Mom and all the encouragement you give to her and her family.

  2. Thanks, Terry, Kristin’s current struggle with depression is another battle in this war on disease. The daughter we know as upbeat, positive, energetic, problem-solving, professional, able to do most anything, going through a dark valley is an agony impossible to describe….we so appreciate the team of supporters she has and we thank all of you who are praying. I don’t know how anyone goes through these things without. But the Lord IS good…all the time. Without Him, we can do nothing.

Leave a Reply

