Sidelined for Now

Yesterday my fever hit 102.4 after I had taken Tylenol an hour prior, so I called the cancer clinic to find out what they wanted me to do. They told me to head to Eugene and to prepare to be admitted. I packed a bag of essentials, and mom came over, picked us up, and we headed to the hospital.

We checked in at the clinic first and then I was admitted to Riverbend. The nurses and staff here are great. I did have a CT scan done soon after getting here, but we didn’t hear anything back about anything until today.

The problem is definitely in my lungs, but we’re not sure whether it’s pneumonia or a complication of the chemotherapy drug, Bleomycin, that they took me off of at my last session. Other than doing some invasive tests like scoping my lungs, my understanding is that the way they can determine which one it is, will be how it responds to treatment. I got a dose of an antibiotic yesterday and another today, but even this morning I had a fever that reached 103. They gave me some Tylenol which I can tell brought my fever down. It may be that we won’t find out why I got a fever, or for sure there was pneumonia even. Because of this, the chemotherapy session that I was supposed to have today will be postponed at least a week.

I will be here again tonight for sure, and time will tell whether I get to come home tomorrow. Until then, I know I am in the place I need to be. Thanks for all your prayers!

2 thoughts on “Sidelined for Now

  1. Kristin, thank you so much for updating. I was just saying to Nick that I needed to check on you. There sat your blog post. I read a verse this morning that I would like to share with you. It gives such a picture of God’s presence, I think. Isaiah 25:4: “You have been a refuge for the poor, a refuge for the needy in his distress, a shelter from the storm and a shade from the heat…” My prayer for you is that you will feel that cool “shade” tonight, and know that He’s watching over you every single minute. Many are praying, and you are in the best of Hands!

  2. Kristin, So sorry to hear. I’m praying for you. May God give you His healing, the ability to rest in Him, and the faith to believe He is Sovereign and has a perfect plan! Love and prayers, Carol

Leave a Reply

