Fever – Day 4

Have you ever let a project go for a couple days, meant to do something about it and then before you know it, it’s snowballed into an even bigger project.  So you think you don’t have time to catch up, so you put it off another day.  One day becomes two, two becomes four and suddenly you couldn’t catch up if you tried?  Well that’s where I feel I am right now, so instead of trying to catch up, I’ll just start where I am now.

This is the fourth day of a low grade fever & cough.  It started on Friday night, and by 6:30 am on Saturday morning, my fever had hit 101.4.  So Tom & I went in to the Emergency Room in Albany to see if they could find anything haywire with me.  I had a few tests and a chest x-ray while I was there.  They told me that there was no pneumonia and to call back the next day to find out about the blood cultures.  Sunday I called back & they told me that everything was fine – negative.  The weirdest thing was that my white blood cell count came in at 3.11 – WAY higher than it’s been at ANY time prior to chemotherapy.  It just makes me think that something wasn’t done correctly, and Dr. Sharman thinks it’s a little odd too.

I stayed down and tried to “be good” all day Saturday & Sunday, and most of Monday.  It is not easy.  It makes me feel like I’m being lazy, but I know that it’s the best thing for my body to get the rest it needs.  Today, my temperature has still been dancing in the high 100s, so I called the Willamette Valley Cancer Institute to speak to a nurse and see what they wanted me to do.  They have decided that I will have a CT scan of my chest done tomorrow.

So there you have it.  I’m caught up for now – or at least as caught up as I’m gonna get.  🙂

2 thoughts on “Fever – Day 4

  1. Bless your heart, Kristin! You have done superbly, in my estimation, to send updates and share your sentiments. I hope this fever “episode” clears up soon and gives you a chance to be active again. It’s amazing how just a low-grade fever signals one’s brain that something is amiss. We’ll be waiting to hear about what it is indicating for you.

    Welcome to the “Never Caught Up” ranks. I’ve fit that category for far too long, and it is not a positive feeling.

    You have our love and prayers. Sara__________________________________________

  2. Love u Kristin. Still think of you so often! It sounds cliche, but I’m still keeping you in my prayers. I hope this is just a little blip in your health.

Leave a Reply

