Rip Van Winkle Days…er…Nights?

Ever had those times when you think you could sleep the day away?  Well, after this last chemo, that’s exactly what I did.  This time, chemo was on Friday.  My white blood cell count is down to 610 (from 6000 prior to starting my chemo regimen).  Because of this, I have a lot of fatigue.  Normal white blood cell count is within the range of 4000-10,800, so you can tell that before this whole journey started, even doing a blood count on me would not have shown abnormalities.  That’s what makes this disease so sneaky.

I didn’t really feel a huge difference in this session until Sunday morning when I nearly passed out in the shower, then when I was doing my makeup – oops, I started typing “hair” there and had to delete it!  Old habits die hard I guess. 🙂 and then almost threw up.  I decided at that point, that I probably shouldn’t go to church.  Ya think?  I ended up sleeping off & on until after 2:00pm, and then pretty much stayed in bed dozing the rest of the day as well.

I pulled a bit of myself together yesterday to go to a walk-through with some buyers I have been working with since April.  Their house is almost done & it’s so beautiful!  I am excited for them to be able to get their family settled at last.

Today we went back to Eugene & I got more fluids.  You’d think that I could stay hydrated, but no.  The chemo nurses actually told me once that they wished more of “us” would come in for fluids because it makes us feel so much better.  I can tell you, that by now, 6:45pm, I am feeling SOOO much better!  I was actually even singing earlier!  I thought it was kinda ironic though – the song that was spontaneously coming out was from “West Side Story” – “I Feel Pretty!”  It actually made me laugh because right now, I don’t think that’s quite accurate – at least for the world’s standards.  Thankfully, that’s not the standards I’m aiming for!

Remember, as a child of God, we’re all PRETTY!

3 Don’t be concerned about the outward beauty of fancy hairstyles,
expensive jewelry or beautiful clothes.  
4You should clothe yourselves instead with the beauty that comes from within,
the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit,
which is so precious to God.

1 Peter 3:3-4

(photo from http://bibleversephotos.tumblr.com/)

3 thoughts on “Rip Van Winkle Days…er…Nights?

  1. Kristin, you’re beautiful inside and out and you’ve got your priorities straight. Life can change for any one of us at any moment, but God’s faithfulness endures! I’m late in reading this, but wanted you to know how good it was to see you in the church foyer on the way out of church yesterday. Best hug I’ve had all week!

Leave a Reply

