What’s been going on???

As you might be able to tell, I don’t write everyday.  I want to keep everyone up to date, but I think I’d rather have quality posts than quantity.  If you want quantity, and you’re my friend on Facebook, that’s where the everyday stuff goes. 🙂

So here’s what has happened lately.  This round has been harder on me than some of the previous.  I’m not sure why, but it’s just been rougher.  I’ve been more sick and for longer.  Where it typically starts on day 5, this time on day 3 I was not doing so good.  It’s hit me more as tiredness this time.

I had someone ask me recently what the “fluids” are that I’ve been going in for.  Well, since the second session of chemo, I have been going in on the following Monday (day 5) to get an IV bag full of hydration fluids and another small bag of nausea medicine.  This has been pretty helpful as far as keeping the yucky feelings at bay.  It takes about an hour and a half for it to be all done if we don’t have any problems with my port.  If my port has issues, it can take 2-3 hours.

It wasn’t until Friday or Saturday that I actually felt  really good – and then I felt REALLY good!  In fact, I felt so good that when Tom went out and picked over 70 pounds of cherries, I had the energy to can 40 quarts of them!  Since posting a photo of the jars on Facebook, I’ve had a bunch of people ask for my recipe.  Well, I had been thinking I might blog a “how-to” for canning so I took pictures throughout the whole process and am looking forward to putting together a fun post in the next couple of days.

Monday & Tuesday we kept the freeway warm with trips back and forth to Eugene for doctor’s appointments – Tom’s this time.  On Monday, he had to have an MRI on his head because his neurologist wanted to see if he could find any reason for the constant headaches he has.  Tuesday was an appointment with the pain clinic, again, because of the headaches.

Today, I just rested and enjoyed the sunshine.  The kids played “school” with my sister Andrea’s kiddos all day.  They had everything from spelling to lunch break (on the lawn), to handwriting, to PE – in the swimming pool!  It’s so cute. 🙂

Tomorrow in the morning is my oncology appointment (we’re taking the kids this time) and in the evening is the fundraiser that my work is putting on at a local pizzeria, Ciddici’s, here in downtown Albany.  We’ve got a few surprises in store for the kids between the two events, but you’ll have to wait and see. 🙂  By the way, tickets for the pizza buffet will be sold at the door, so if you don’t have any, feel free to just drop by – we’ll have food!

Leave a Reply

