Chemo Round 4 – DONE!

I had a great session of chemo today!  After my labwork & checkup (this time with Dr. Kovach), I made my way to the chemo lounge.  My favorite chemo chair was open – it’s a recliner that has a great view & is all by itself.  I don’t know why, but when I’m getting chemo, I don’t want to socialize.  I was visiting with Mom, and I even commented that I just want to be by myself.  Is that selfish?  I don’t mean it to be.  All I want to do is rest & get the medicine I need.

Another thing I found out was how to read my lab report.  Kinda important…  I found out that my White Blood Cells are .75.  What does that mean?  Glad you asked.  With any other kind of cancer, that would mean my white blood cells are too low for chemo, and they would have to postpone my treatment until my count was above 1.0.  Except in the case of Hodgkin’s Lymphoma.  With Hodgkin’s, they proceed with chemo no matter what your count is.  This time, it’s actually high for me!  On 5/31, my count was .42, on 5/17 it was .26!  To give you an idea of how far down I’ve gone, when they did my very first lab workup before I had my first chemo, my count was 6 – as in 6.0!  The lower my count is, the higher risk it is for me to be around other people and especially anyone not feeling well.

So if I see you and don’t give you a hug, or seem to hang back, please don’t take it personally – I just want to stay as well as possible!  But if you know me well, you know that I’m going to probably throw caution to the wind, and my arms around your neck!  And then use hand sanitizer! LOL

One thought on “Chemo Round 4 – DONE!

Leave a Reply

