Normalcy

Here’s what happens with the blog when I’m feeling good:  I have tons of thoughts & plans in my head & they never make it to the blog because I’m so busy trying to get everything done that I need to do while I feel good!  It’s like a vicious cycle.

Similar to how things went the very first round of chemo, I have had a great week this week.  I have been able to enjoy the sunshine – either in my little backyard shelter or in the shade of trees & bushes. I’ve been able to go on walks in the evenings with Tom.  I feel normal – well maybe a warped version of normal. 🙂  I have felt pretty level emotionally – not seesawing too much until today.

I think the reason I’m more sensitive today is because the family is trying to pack to go camping and I have yet to learn how to get ready for camping without stressing out from all the prep work.  Each year, we go to Brownsville (sooo far…) 🙂 and camp at the Pioneer Park during the city’s yearly celebration.  This year is the 125th event – amazing!  The kids have a ball because the Picnic is so family friendly.  Up till this year, all of us except Tom have competed in the Spelling Bee & and placed either first or second.  Blaine loves it because he usually places First in his division and gets himself some spending money for the rest of the weekend. 🙂  I haven’t done too shabbily either myself.  Usually I end up besting the kids’ school principal.  Now that’s fun! LOL

The flip side of feeling good is that I end up – like I stated earlier – trying to pack too much into the short amount of good time that I have.  And then that wears me out.  And then I get cranky.  And then the circle continues…

On Tuesday, it was my turn to take someone to the doctor.  Tom had his 6 month checkup with his neurologist & it looks like they have his seizures under control.  He hasn’t had any episodes in such a long time.  We are so blessed for that.  But the best thing was he had a really bad headache that day.  I know that sound weird, but I’m pretty sure most of you have had a time when you’ve had a medical issue & then gone to the doctor only to have it NOT manifest itself that day, and the doctor says you’re fine.  Well, this was a great day for him to have a headache.  Dr. Choi asked about it, and wondered if this was a “just-once-in-a-while” issue or an everyday occurance.  When we told him that the headaches happen every day, he looked back at Tom’s chart & couldn’t find where he’d had his last MRI.  So in 2 weeks, Tom will be getting his brain scanned & we’ll find out whether he has one or not!  🙂

Tomorrow is my fourth session of chemo.  I liken it to riding a roller coaster – you know those old rickety sounding wooden ones that have breathtaking climbs until you get to the top & plummet to the bottom, just to whip around a corner & do it again.  I’m up at the top of one of those climbs.  It’s slowing down, and preparing to tip over the edge.  So I’m gonna raise my hands high, and let out a yell, because as you know that’s the best way to ride the scariest ones.

2 thoughts on “Normalcy

  1. Kristin……..I love you, admire you, and am SO proud of you! You are so tough and strong, you write so beautifully and with creativity….(the wooden roller coaster description)….I love that!! I will continue to pray for you my friend!! Lots of love, Shannon 🙂

  2. I missed you on stage at picnic in the spelling bee. I told Tony Curtis, Spelling Bee chair, about you and he said he would keep you in his thoughts. Your kids were wonderful and polite as always. Always a blessing to me. We will continue to believe in a total healing for you my friend. Love, Debie

Leave a Reply

