Surgery? Yes…uh, No…I don’t know!

First of all, I have to tell you this.  When you are going through chemotherapy, it’s like a roller coaster.  For me, I start on chemo day (Day 1) and I feel pretty ok from then till about Day 4.  But on Day 5, it plummets for me until about Day 8. By Day 9 (yesterday in this cycle), I’m headed back up to the “good” days and then by Day 15, it’s Day 1 again.

This time, with the extra fluids on Monday, I was able to get by, not feeling like I’d been hit by a truck for a week.  That was really nice. 🙂

I had a few things come up this week that I had to take care of for work.  That I think has been one of the most difficult balances to try and find.  I want to make sure that I do what I need to do in that realm of my life, yet I know I need to rest as much as possible.  So far, I’m passing on most of the work that I have gotten since my diagnosis, and that’s working fine.  However, I have one transaction that is lingering and it just had some stuff come up that I HAD to deal with this week.

So all this in addition to the port issues. On Wednesday, I contacted the Willamette Valley Cancer Institute office to find out what was going on to resolve the problems with my port.  They told me that Dr. Sharman had ordered for it to be “revised” and I was scheduled for surgery on Friday morning at 7:30 am.  No one knew exactly what they were going to do in the surgery, but they’d get back to me.  To be honest, this whole week has been foggy when it comes to the surgery part.

Long story short, I didn’t end up having surgery yesterday, but on Wednesday or Thursday in an hour span, I had 5 phone calls: 1st & 2nd calls – you’re having surgery make sure you’re there to check in at 6:30 am, while I’m on the phone with call 2, 3rd call comes to my cell. I ignore it.  Immediately the house phone rings – same number so I hang up on call #2.  Call #3 was the surgeon saying, “I think your port is fine, there’s a small sheath over the end of the catheter, but it’s still in the right place, so you can still get chemo.  We won’t be having surgery this week, you need to have the cancer office try to access your port again and if it doesn’t work to get blood that time, then we can do your surgery next Wednesday before your next chemo.”  While I’m on the phone with her, my cell phone rings.  I ignore it. It immediately rings again.  I ask the surgeon if I can catch this other call, she says sure.  Call #4 is Sam from the surgeon’s office telling me to be there at 6:30 for surgery!  I tell the surgeon, and she says to tell #4 that I’m on the phone with her, and go ahead & hang up with him.  So I do that.  Hang up with the surgeon.  Not 15 minutes later, I get a call from the anesthesiologist, telling me to guess what?  Be there for surgery at 6:30 am!!!  And I’M the one with chemo brain???  Let me tell you, this was so confusing & I was in tears.

Ultimately, I got in touch with Willamette Valley Cancer Institute & spoke to Traci, a nurse that basically told me she was so sorry for all of this & would take over figuring everything out.  Thank you LORD!!!  I got a call from her yesterday saying that since the x-ray confirmed the catheter is still positioned ok, and it’s still receiving the fluids, we will go ahead with chemo as scheduled, there will be no surgery on Wednesday.  Before chemo on Thursday, they will use a small amount of some kind of drug to hopefully dissolve the sheath.  She said that if it’s going to work, it will work really quickly and they should be able to get blood.  If not, Dr. Sharman says that they will have done everything they could on their end and we would have to do something else to revise it.

So that’s been my week in a nutshell.  Sorry that it’s taken me so long to post these latest entries, but as you can see, I’ve had a couple things going on. 🙂  How was your week?
One thought on “Surgery? Yes…uh, No…I don’t know!

  1. Oh man can I understand the roller coaster part of chemo for sure!!!! I hear ya loud and clear!!
    I’m so sorry you are having to deal with the port issue and I will pray they can resolve it without further problems. I know each chemo treatment I have felt like, “Okay, are we gonna have a prob THIS time??”…hate that feeling!!
    Hope this is a good week for you…I’ll be thinking of you!!

Leave a Reply

