The Rise of the Chemo Monster

Apparently chemo makes me cranky.  I didn’t think it made that much of a difference in me, but I think what happens is I just can’t handle multiple things happening at a time, especially conflicts.  While a bunch of things were going on, Tom said, “Here comes the Chemo Monster!”  We all had a good laugh over it, and it makes me try harder to not be grouchy. 🙂

Interestingly enough, I have felt pretty good as far as post-chemo blech is concerned.  Yesterday morning, I didn’t even feel like I’d had chemo the day before!  I had enough energy to strip the bed and clean the kitchen since it was a disaster.  I could tell that I did need to rest myself a bit though, so for the afternoon, I stuck in a movie – “How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days” – and just hung out in the living room.

As I was looking around on Facebook, I came across a group called, “Lymphoma and Hodgkin’s Disease Awareness and Survivor’s Club”.  I’ve found it to be really helpful, as a lot of questions that I have had about this are already answered on there.  Plus, I’ve found others who have just recently been diagnosed as well.  But the coolest thing I found was a photo that someone took of a cancer survivor looking in the mirror.  I’m not going to give you the details yet, because when I saw it, I emailed it to my brother-in-law, Mark Ylen (who happens to be a professional photographer) and told him I wanted to do this picture, but didn’t have the technology to do it, and did he want to?  His answer was, “Wow! I think I have to.  I had a dream about taking cancer pictures just last night.”  So after they got back from my niece Maija’s softball game, we had a photo shoot. 🙂  I’ll post the picture later – it’s definitely not ready yet.

This morning, Andrea came over and we had coffee on the deck.  It was nice just sitting and visiting with her.  I’ve now decided it’s time to camp out on the couch for the rest of the day – I can feel the steroids wearing off and the yuckiness starting – it’s weird to feel good yet know that I’ll head downhill again soon.

3 thoughts on “The Rise of the Chemo Monster

  1. Oh my do we need to get together…I know I don’t know you really…but I am cracking up after reading your post. One, I just watched “How to lose a guy in 10 days” last week on one of my down days!! And two, though I don’t know who YOUR Andrea is…I have a very close friend named Andrea who has done so much for me through my journey so far…”coffee on the deck” is one of our favorites!!! Oh, oh, oh….and I totally understand the chemo monster thing too–can’t handle too much, noise, commotion, people, kids arguing, etc, all at once…

    • oops that wasnt suppose to post yet…but i should prob quit before i freak you out since i hardly know you…plus my predictive text has apparwntly quit working for the moment, making this mire difficult….note the typos…. ;o}

Leave a Reply

