This Is Where The Healing Begins

The view from my chemo recliner is very pastoral. I can see lots of trees, a few cars coming & going from the parking garage & the occasional ambulance.  I am enjoying the company of Tom and Mom as I am getting my second chemotherapy infusion.

I didn’t blog about the first one because I was feeling so cruddy at the time.  I did take a few photos of the first session, and had totally planned to write it, but it just didn’t happen.  I went into the that treatment with a lot of trepidation & fear.  What was going to happen?  How would I feel?  Would it hurt?  Would I get sick?  The unknowns were the worst part of it.  At that time, I was still recovering from the port surgery and to top it off, I had a monstrosity of a cold. 😦  Definitely not conducive to a smooth process.  I think I went through almost an entire box of Kleenex that day.  Once we got to the room that I affectionately refer to as the “Chemo Lounge”, I was situated in a nice semi-private area and they hooked up my IV to the port that had been installed.  I didn’t know what to expect, but once she got the right placement, she used a cold spray on my skin so it wouldn’t hurt, and just plugged it in!  It really wasn’t that bad!  The whole process, from allergy test to final saline flush took about 4.5 hours.
Today’s appointment was a lot quicker – only 2.5-3 hours – not including the appointment with Dr. Sharman beforehand, or the blood draw that I had to have. Last night as I climbed into bed I started having some conflicting feelings about today’s procedure.  This time it wasn’t because of what I didn’t know, but rather because of what I did.  I have been having so many amazing days lately – I didn’t want to be sick again!  As I prayed about these feelings, I knew that in order for me to get well, I had to get sick.  It seems so counter-productive.
Going into today’s treatment, I wondered if there would be a point that I would feel the sick feelings “hit” me.  After the fact now, I would say it showed up gradually.  I am definitely tired now, and my digestive system is letting me know that it really doesn’t like being poisoned. 🙂  On a positive note, when I met with Dr. Sharman, he asked me a few questions about how I’ve been doing, and when I told him how fantastic I’ve been feeling, he said that was really encouraging.  According to him, some patients take a few treatments before they start feeling better, so I’m doing great.  He will be having me get another PET scan towards the end of next month to see how the chemo is affecting the mass & how my body is responding in general.  Until then, my next chemo appointment is May 31st.
Today is Sharolyn’s last band concert of the year, so I’m planning to rest up, and then pull everything I have together so I can go hear her tonight.  Don’t worry – I’m going to wear one of those freebie masks that you get in doctors’ offices so that I’m not affected by any of the surrounding germs. 🙂  It’s one of those things that you don’t want to miss, but at the same time, I really need to be as careful as possible.
Oh, and the fun thing I did today?  I helped my mom enter the 21st century – she now can text.  First Facebook & now texting?  I’m corrupting her little by little – I wonder what will be next?  Pinterest?  Hee hee!  🙂  Here’s a link to a song that I love and that is really appropriate for me and my journey.  Please click on the picture below & enjoy! 🙂
6 thoughts on “This Is Where The Healing Begins

  1. Your words always encourage me, Kristin. Keep trusting and looking to God, the Author and Perfector of your faith. The rest of us are on the sidelines praying for you day by day by day.

  2. With your pretty flower and bright new sundress, you certainly bring life and hope to that Healing Room! The staff there must be so happy to help you. A blessing you are!

  3. Love your fancy new dress! And the flower in your hair! And your positive spirit! Glad today was better than last time. I pray that you are resting and will be able to go to the concert.

  4. Kristin, every day I check your site, both face book and this one. How you describe the details, and pictures are incredible. We as a family feel we are sharing very closely with you and your family. We laugh and we cry (Robb Bobbie and I). You have such a gift of expression in picture and words. The Lord will use this for his glory. It is hard for all of us to know your pain. To make us smile we know and remind ourselves the Lord will bless your life.
    Just know we love you and yours SO much !

  5. Kristin, your words bring tears to my eyes…you are going thru a very tough time yet you are finding hope and encouragement and are blessing and encouraging the rest of us reading your blog and I am sure the medical staff and people you come in contact with! God works all things for good for those that love him, who have been called according to his purpose. Romans 8:28 Thank you for your blessings and know you are in my thoughts and prayers!

  6. I don’t even know you personally, but I Know you as a beautiful person as I read your blog. God uses beautiful people in mysterious ways. There is a total picture for you and Michelle–two beautiful women! The God who made us can surely mend us! Praying for you along with Michelle and thank you for the encouragment you have already been to her. I’m sure she will be the same back to you! God bless you my friend..Carolyn Miller Yoder

Leave a Reply

