What a great day!

Sometimes I’m struggling between wanting to post what I did today and wanting to keep this thing chronological, but I guess I’ll give up on the chronological part. So, today’s post is about today, and it was great!

This morning, Sharolyn & I went to a Mother Daughter Brunch at New Hope church, with my mom, Grandma Gerig & family friend Margaret. The speaker talked about how everything we do is sowing a seed, and how important every little seed is. I hope to use this whole experience as a means to sow seeds of faith and trust for others to see. Now don’t get me wrong, I am still human, and this is still cancer. But, if I can take what God gives me, and give him the glory through it all, I don’t see how it would be possible not to sow good seeds.

After the brunch, Shary & I had a few errands to run, like picking up some meds for Tom & getting some sunscreen for me so I don’t fry like chicken in this gorgeous weather! I learned something today, it’s really important for me to have some kind of protein snack in my purse at all times. We were in WalMart today when I started to get a little woozy. I bought one of those Zone Perfect bars and was feeling fine by the time we got to JoAnn Fabrics about 15 minutes later. After JoAnn’s, Sharolyn wanted to treat me to a Mocha Cookie Crunch Frappucino at Starbucks during their Happy Hour.

We went over to my mom’s after Starbucks, and I actually sewed myself a new dress for Mother’s Day! It was exciting to do something domestic like that again. I can’t even remember the last time I sewed something other than patches on Girl Scout uniforms. 🙂 It won’t be the last time in a while though, because I bought enough fabric for two dresses, so I’m hoping to finish the other tomorrow. They’re super cute and super simple sundresses. With the sales & coupons, I will have 2 dresses for about $13 each. You can’t argue with those economics!

Finally tonight we went to my friend Shannon’s birthday party. The weather was so perfect to sit and relax on their covered back patio. She got the cutest little Havaweenie for her birthday (it’s a half Havanese, half miniature Daschund puppy). Sharolyn loved holding it, while he was wearing his adorable Doggle brand, aviator-style sunglasses. I kid you not, they’re the most adorable things that she made very clear SHE had not purchased for him. He wore them with no problems and actually seemed to like wearing them!

 After a yummy barbecue dinner, there was a very proper game of croquet for all the young people. Once that was over, that’s when the real entertainment began. Apparently, John has four frogs in his garage and we ended up watching a frog jumping contest! It was hilarious to watch the frogs flying all over and the men chasing their respective competitors. The funniest thing was that at the end of the race, all three frogs were so exhausted that they played dead! I didn’t know frogs did that. Poor Shannon was afraid her party was turning red-necked, 🙂 but I told her that this was so fun and I thought it would be a

  totally unforgettable party.

What a day! At one point I was even thinking, “Wow, I’m having a regular schedule day almost!” Knowing how much I used to pile on my activity plate at one time, I’m not sure that’s a good thing. Perhaps one thing I will take from this whole experience will be to slow down…right. But I am seriously going to try. 🙂

 

One thought on “What a great day!

  1. I’m impressed that you just whipped up a dress! Glad that you had such a great day. Happy Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

