Wiggin’ out…in more ways than one!

5-3-12 – First of all, Happy Birthday to my brother Ryan who is a 5 year cancer survivor!
I can’t remember if I’ve mentioned this before so if I have, sorry, but my Aunt Judy (my dad’s sister) was diagnosed with Breast Cancer just a couple months ago.  That was one of the shockers that started my journey, but that’s another story.  Anyway, she’s about 2 weeks ahead of me in the whole chemo treatment cycle, and she called me just a couple days ago asking if I wanted to go to Eugene to a wig store in the Valley River Center.  So that was today’s adventure.

It ended up that we had a whole carload that went together – I mean, how fun can it be to shop for new hair all by yourself???  My cousin Heidi drove her big Suburban-thing rig, and then it was Judy, her friend Joanne, my Aunt Nancy (Judy’s sister), my sister Andrea, and me.  Oh, and we can’t forget Jenna, Heidi’s newest little one!

We stopped for lunch at El Torito, a mexican restaurant really close to the mall.  Nothing really beats the all you can eat chips and salsa, except for the fresh avacado guacamole that they literally make AT the table.  You know, it’s not that hard to do – or at least he didn’t make it look that hard. 🙂

Clockwise from left: Heidi, Nancy, Judy, Andrea & Joanne.
Anyway we had lots of laughs and great fellowship over that lunch.  It’s funny what gets talked about when you’re going through stuff like this. 🙂  We left the restaurant absolutely stuffed and headed over to the mall.  LOL – get it?  “Head”ed???  Ok, I think I might be getting tired. 🙂

I tried on a bunch of wigs, and some of them weren’t too bad, but with price tags in the hundreds and a “buy it, it’s yours, no returns” policy, I didn’t make any purchases.  It’s hard to try and figure out what’s going to feel ok on your head without hair when you have hair, not to mention that it’s emotionally draining.  I was surprised at that part of it.  It’s fun to see yourself with different hairstyles, and I have to admit, now that I’ve looked at the photos, I like some of them better than I did in person – my first choice, I’m not so sure I’d go with now.  Anyway, I was so glad that Andrea was there with me.  Once I was done trying them on and was putting my own hair back into place, I just fell apart.  I don’t want to lose my hair.  I never thought I’d be that affected by that particular part of it, but apparently I’m not immune to some vanity.
    
    
    
So what do you all think? 🙂
Here’s the one that my Aunt Judy decided on:
11 thoughts on “Wiggin’ out…in more ways than one!

  1. Kristin: Most wigs need to be cut or thinned a bit after you buy them to fit your head and face better. There are some stylist who are comfortable working with wigs. Hope it all works out for you, have some fun with the parts of this journey that you can.
    Thinking of you,
    Sonja

  2. Kristin, so sorry for the journey that you are walking through right now. Looks like you had lots of support today. I did not know that Judy was diagnosed with breast cancer. I will pray for both of you! I am now a 14 year survivor so as you talk about the emotions that you experienced today – I remember emotional times when I was not at all expecting it. Blessings to you, Judy, and your families. Can’t imagine what would it be like to go through the cancer diagnosis, etc without a heavenly Father walking along?

  3. just read your blogs tonight. You have a talent for writing. You made me laugh and cry and think about life. I’m so sorry for what you are having to go through. I do know, that even when we don’t know why things happen, we can trust in the Goodness of our God and know that He is in control. You are in my thoughts and prayers Kristen!

    Amy

  4. I’m so glad you made this trip with your aunt and friends. Sharing the experience with someone who truly understands, would be encouraging. (Laughing and crying together) There are a couple of styles that look so at home on you, no one would know they weren’t original. Praying for you!

  5. Cousin (in-law), I like your aunt’s choice. 3 of my close friends have done this “wig out” thing in the last 3 years and one enjoys hers so much, she doesn’t go back to her own hair. Thanks for your vulnerability.

  6. I am glad to hear you speaking of such great family & friend support, Kristin! That is so vital during this journey. I really liked the third to last and last wigs on you. Although, the long blonde one was pretty hot! 😉

  7. The long blonde hair is definitely YOU! You just never know how you will respond or react to all the changes going on until you are right in the midst. The best medicine though is being surrounded by people who can help you laugh and just enjoy being in the right-here-and-now. Love you!

  8. You’re a trooper, Kristin! Thirty nine years ago yesterday (5/11/73) we were excitedly awaiting your birth…but as you know you were ten days late (5/21/73). We’ve been through deep waters together more than once since then. As any parent knows, it is agony to watch our child suffer. It’s a comfort to know that our Heavenly Father knows and understands better than any human parent could because He SENT His Son to suffer and die so that we could choose to have the abundant life He offers. The verse I claimed in 2005, the year of Dad’s and Ryan’s cancers, was John 10:10 which goes something like this: the thief comes to steal, kill, and destroy, but I [Jesus Christ] comes to give abundant life. It is an inspiration to know that you have chosen Him, and that you are using this test as part of your testimony.
    Happy Mother’s Day tomorrow (5/13/12)
    Love,
    Mom

  9. Kristin, I hope that someday, when I have my own trials of life, I can have half of your grace! Love the photos of all of the wigs. When my mom went through Chemo, the cancer center had a huge stock of wigs. She was able to take home several. One of which, her normal stylist fixed up for a nominal fee. It might be worth asking…
    Maybe that dress needs a scouting patch or two…
    Thinking of you.

    Julie

  10. Kristin, I remember going wig shopping with someone else you know…name omitted here to protect the privacy of the person in question, who you see regularly 🙂 That was really hard for her too, and she’s not going to get her hair back. It’s a hard thing!
    God bless you.

    Helen Eby

    • Kristin,

      As I was having my hair cut for just the 2nd time by Molly, I learned she’d just shaved your aunts head. It’s a small world. We hope to come to the fundraiser/auction.

      Donna

Leave a Reply

