My dad always told me I was full of hot air…

 

Tuesday, right after I dropped the kids off at school I had to go have a Pulmonary Function test.  Now, if you had asked me what that was before I had my cancer diagnosis, I would have told you that I had no idea except that I think pulmonary has something to do with lungs.  I was pretty much right.  My test was done on the third floor of the Samaritan Albany General Hospital on the baby floor. They have taken a patient room & transformed it into a testing facility for breathing.  The test basically consisted of me blowing into a scuba-type mouthpiece multiple times.  The whole thing lasted only about 30 minutes and was pretty simple, except that a few times I had to blow out past the point that I thought I could go.  He explained that by doing that, it empties the little areas of the lungs, not just the big ones.  They do this test so that they can see how my lungs perform BEFORE treatment, and then it will be done again mid treatment and afterwards. The nice thing about this test is that it doesn’t hurt at all!

After the test, I met my aunt Judy at the Cancer Resource Center and we took the Look Good, Feel Better class sponsored by the American Cancer Society.  We had a fun time learning different ways to do our makeup, and seeing how little changes can help when the chemotherapy starts changing our skin and hair.  I only wish i had remembered to take a picture of us together – Judy actually wore glitter on her eyes and it looked so pretty!  (For those of you who don’t know Judy, she was diagnosed with breast cancer recently & started her first round of chemo last week.) They even have a room full of wigs and hats that we can have when the need arises.  I’m not sure that I will wear a wig though.  For some reason those things have always creeped me out.  I think I might be more inclined to wear hats or even just run around with a bald head – you never know! 🙂
One thought on “My dad always told me I was full of hot air…

  1. Kristin, your writing leaves me smiling. 🙂 I wish they would have had blogs when I went through my cancer journey. I think it is so very therapeutic. You are inspiring! I look forward to reading more of your journey. I agree with you about wigs, by the way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

